Foundation Stage

The last year of the Early Years Foundation Stage begins in our Foundation class, since most children are admitted to the school at the beginning of the academic year.

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum has seven areas of learning.

There are three prime areas which are fundamental to support development in all other areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

There are four specific areas which include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Characteristics of Effective Learning move through all areas of learning, these are:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically

The Early Years Foundation Stage identifies the developing knowledge, skills, understanding and attitudes for children to achieve the Early Learning Goals for the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage.  This includes age related expectations to ensure that children are provided with appropriate learning experiences to develop a firm foundation on which to build future academic, social and emotional success.